EFTA in Figures

13.6 million people live in the four EFTA countries. EFTA is the European Union's third largest trading partner in merchandise, and the second largest in services. EU is EFTAs largest trading partner; 70% of merchandise imported to EFTA countries comes from the EU. Some of EFTAs key exports are mineral fuels and oil, pharmaceutical products, and machinery and mechanical appliances.

For infographs on EFTA and the EFTA countries, click the links below:

More figures on EFTA and the individual countries are available in the 55th Annual Report of the European Free Trade Association  and on the page dedicated to EFTA trade statistics. The EFTA Statistical Office does not collect statistical data from the EFTA countries, but such data are available through several sources, most comprehensively on the website of Eurostat.


Economic indicators


Sources: Eurostat and national statistical institutes. Trade figures taken from
national accounts data.

1 Figures for Liechtenstein are from 2013 and are based on ESA95 methodology.
2 Liechtenstein: Gross National Income (GNI) per capita.
3 Liechtenstein’s trade figures are included in Switzerland’s trade figures due to
the Swiss-Liechtenstein Customs Union.
4 Swiss figures are provisional.

* Purchasing Power Standard (PPS) is an artificial currency unit which neutralises
the effect of price level differences across countries.


Source: Eurostat (COMEXT).
* Trade between Liechtenstein and Switzerland is not included due to
the existence of the Switzerland-Liechtenstein Customs Union.


Source: Eurostat (COMEXT).

Source: Eurostat (COMEXT)
*HS: Harmonised System for Product Classification.


Social indicators

Sources: Eurostat and national statistical institutes
1 Liechtenstein infant mortality rate is a five-year average (2009-2013).
2 Liechtenstein unemployment is register-based unemployment.

EEA Introductory Seminar

This introductory seminar is intended to provide professionals, both inside and outside the European Union, with a thorough understanding of the Agreement on the European Economic Area and how it integrates Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway into the EU’s Internal Market.