EEA Council

The EEA Council meets twice a year and provides political impetus for the development of the EEA Agreement. The EEA EFTA States are represented in the EEA Council by their respective foreign ministers. Before the Lisbon Treaty, the European Union was represented by the so-called “Troika”, which was led by the foreign minister of the rotating EU Council presidency, the European Commissioner for External Relations and the High Representative for the EU's Common Foreign and Security Policy. When the two latter positions were merged under the Lisbon Treaty, the EU Council decided that the EEA Council would continue to be chaired on the EU side by the rotating presidency.

The Presidency of the EEA Council alternates each term between the EU and the EEA EFTA side. In addition to the actual meeting, a dialogue normally takes place on a wide range of foreign political issues. As part of an assessment of the overall functioning of the EEA Agreement, the EEA Joint Committee prepares a progress report on its activities for each EEA Council meeting. The EEA Council also takes into consideration resolutions adopted by the EEA Joint Parliamentary Committee and the EEA Consultative Committee since its last meeting.

Rules of procedure for the EEA Council

EEA Council conclusions


EEA progress reports

Head of EEA Policy Coordination
EEA Coordination Division

+32 22861 737

EEA Introductory Seminar

This introductory seminar is intended to provide professionals, both inside and outside the European Union, with a thorough understanding of the Agreement on the European Economic Area and how it integrates Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway into the EU’s Internal Market.