The Chairmanship rotates every six months. For the EFTA Council, the chairmanship rotates between Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland. For the EFTA Standing Committee, the Chairmnaship rotates between the three EEA EFTA States, namely Iceland Liechtenstein and Norway. The Chairmanship of the EEA Joint Committee is alternatively held by the EU side and an EEA EFTA State. Below you find an overview of which country holds the chairmanship - past, present and future - as well as the historic priorities of the Council Chair and the work programme of the Standing Committee.



EFTA Standing Committee*  EEA Joint Committee* 
1/2009 Norway Iceland EU
2/2009 Liechtenstein Norway Norway
1/2010 Iceland Liechtenstein EU
2/2010 Switzerland Iceland Iceland
1/2011 Liechtenstein Norway EU
2/2011 Norway     Liechtenstein Liechtenstein
1/2012 Switzerland    Iceland EU
2/2012 Iceland Norway Norway
1/2013 Norway Liechtenstein EU
2/2013 Liechtenstein Iceland Iceland
1/2014 Iceland Norway EU
2/2014 Switzerland Liechtenstein Liechtenstein
1/2015 Liechtenstein Iceland EU
2/2015 Norway Norway Norway
1/2016 Switzerland Liechtenstein EU
2/2016 Iceland Iceland Iceland
1/2017 Norway Norway EU
2/2017 Liechtenstein Liechtenstein Liechtenstein
1/2018 Iceland Iceland EU
2/2018 Switzerland Norway Norway

*Switzerland is not part of the EEA Agreement. For information regarding Switzerland's agreements with the EU, please see the European Commission website and the Swiss Federal Administration website.


EFTA Council


EFTA Standing Committee


EEA Introductory Seminar

This introductory seminar is intended to provide professionals, both inside and outside the European Union, with a thorough understanding of the Agreement on the European Economic Area and how it integrates Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway into the EU’s Internal Market.